Robben makes Team of the Year 2011

Bayern Munich star Arjen Robben has been named in users’ Team of the Year 2011.

There were over 4.5 million votes on the European governing body’s official website in which the line-up was unsurprisingly dominated by Spain’s La Liga. Arjen Robben was the Bundesliga’s only representation.

Champions League holders Barcelona provided 5 players and the coach, whilst rivals Real Madrid provided a further 3. AC Milan’s Thiago Silva and Tottenham Hotspur’s Gareth Bale completed the eleven selected.

Arjen Robben received more votes than fellow Bundesliga compatriot Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund), as well as Xherdan Shaqiri (FC Basel), Gervinho (Arsenal) and Nani (Manchester United) to clam his place in the starting eleven on the right wing.

The other Bundesliga nominees were Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Mario Gomez (Bayern Munich), Benedikt Höwedes (Schalke 04) and Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund) as well as head coach Jürgen Klopp (Borussia Dortmund). users’ Team of the Year 2011:
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
Right-back: Daniel Alves (Barcelona)
Centre-back: Gerard Piqué (Barcelona)
Centre-back: Thiago Silva (AC Milan)
Left-back: Marcelo (Real Madrid)
Right midfield: Arjen Robben (FC Bayern Munich)
Centre midfield: Xavi Hernández (Barcelona)
Attacking midfield: Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona)
Left midfield: Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)
Forward: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Forward: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Coach: Josep Guardiola (Barcelona)